Star Awards 2014

The Trust’s first awards ceremony was a huge success, with almost 400 nominations being received across the 12 award categories. 48 young stars were invited to the glittering awards ceremony at the Village Hotel on Monday 23rd June 2014, who brought along proud friends, family, headteachers and governors.¬†Matt Bailey, Capital FM breakfast presenter, was the Master of Ceremonies and he introduced the award sponsors who had the difficult task of selecting the award winners who were presented with special star trophies on stage. Every finalist received an amazing prize box worth over ¬£100! Prizes included a day pass at a local attraction, cinema vouchers, INTU shopping voucher, family board game, commemorative mug, personalised chocolate and an invitation to an experience day at Newcastle College. Entertainment on the night included Monkseaton Middle School choir, a sweets buffet, photography ‘I spy’ challenge and music.


Young Campaigner Award

Winner: Kurt Atkins – Year 9, Silverdale School


Allen Oghene – Year 9, Churchill Community College

Kieron Marshall – Year 9, Churchill Community College

Alicia Jackson-Jones – Year 6, Redesdale Primary School


Inspiration Award

Winner: Rachel Winter – Year 5, Monkseaton Middle School


Jessica Wann – Year 9, Southlands School

Molly Nelson – Year 3, Hadrian Park Primary School

Taya Gracen – Year 11 Norham High School


Volunteering Award

Winner: Nathanial Warwick-Wake – Year 11, Southlands School

Winner: Joseph Harvey – Year 11, John Spence Community High School


Makenzie Dillon – Year 6, Grasmere Academy

Stephen Thornton – Year 11, Whitley Bay High School


Fundraising Award

Winner: Rhianna Hogg – Year 8, Burnside College


Lauren Adams – Year 6, Stephenson Memorial Primary School

Maisie Dodds – Year 6, Battle Hill Primary School

Owen Grant – Year 9 Whitley Bay High School


Resilience Award

Winner: Chloe Cowley – Year 6, Forest Hall Primary School


Harrison Young – Year 1, Hadrian Park Primary School

Jake Oakes – Year 11, Marden High School

Sophie Gregan – Year 11, George Stephenson High School


Achievement Award

Winner: Steven Discombe – Year 11, Longbenton Community College


Codie King – Year 5, Beacon Hill School

Eilidh Matthews – Year 2, Benton Dene Primary School

Emily Alderson – Year 1, Hazlewood Primary School


Diversity Award

Winner: Anthony Greer – Year 8, Monkseaton Middle School


Harrison Lynch – Year 2, Redesdale Primary School

Holly Appleby – Year 4, Carville Primary School

Lauren King – Year 10, John Spence Community High School


Green Award

Winner: Freya Woods – Year 4, Rockcliffe First School


Bryan Ward – Year 6, Stephenson Memorial Primary School

Harry Wheatley – Year 5, Redesdale Primary School

Kelsie Jones – Year 8, Churchill Community College


Entrepreneurship Award

Winner: Tanya Wilson – Year 6, Whitehouse Primary School


Chloe Burns – Year 10, John Spence Community High School

Connor McCardle – Year 11, Southlands School

Matthew Mordue – Year 8, Churchill Community College


Leadership Award

Winner: Amonik Melaco – Year 8, Monkseaton Middle School


Callum Jones – Year 6, Monkhouse Primary School

Chelcie Lyon – Year 13, Seaton Burn College

Faye Carr – Year 6, Stephenson Memorial Primary School


Can Do Award

Winner: Elliot Caswell – Year 9, Marden High School


Helen Elliot – Year 9, Whitley Bay High School

Luke Craddock – Year 6, Monkhouse Primary School

Muhammad Guweddeko – Year 13, Monkseaton High School


Special Recognition Award

Winner: Molly Clark Henderson – Year 6, Western Community Primary School


Chizoba Dimgba – Year 2, Wallsend Jubilee Primary School

Daniel topping – Year 10, Churchill Community College

Dzesika Zajda – Year 4, Western Community Primary School


Sign Up For Newsletter