Our School Partners

School Partners

Schools are at the heart of everything we do at the Trust. We currently provide support to 46 schools in North Tyneside, spanning all ages, phases and types.

What is a Trust School?

A Trust School is a local authority maintained school which is supported by a charitable Trust which appoints some of the governors. It remains part of the local authority, family of schools.

It operates within the same frameworks as other maintained schools:

  • It teaches the National Curriculum
  • Follow the Schools Admissions Code and
  • Can be inspected by Ofsted

Teaching staff are employed under terms of the School Teachers’ Pay and Conditions Document. The local authority funds the school on the same basis as all other authority schools and retains its intervention powers if there are problems at the school. Trust schools differ because their charitable Trust (the North Tyneside Learning Trust) establishes a long-term relationship with external partners and involves them in the school’s governance and leadership. The governing body of a Trust School (which retains parents, staff, community and authority governors) remains responsible for all major decisions about the school and its future. The skills and experience of the Learning Trust-appointed governors strengthen the whole governing body and make a contribution to the school’s ethos. The governing body remains responsible for all aspects of the conduct of the school (including the school’s budget and staff) and so responsibilities and accountabilities remain clear. A Trust School does mean that:

  • The school becomes its own admissions authority
  • The governing body becomes the employer
  • Land, building and assets will be transferred from the local authority (LA), and held by the Trust

What is a Partner School?

From April 2015 the Trust funding arrangements changed and a Partnership Agreement was offered to every school in North Tyneside. Trust Partner Schools are supported in the same way as Trust member schools were prior to April 2015.

The Trust currently supports 41 partner schools which can be found in the table below. To find out how to become a partner school please email info@ntlearningtrust.org.uk.

27 Nursery, First and Primary Schools

Amberley Primary School Appletree Gardens First School Balliol Primary School Battle Hill Primary School**
Benton Dene Primary School Burradon Community Primary School* Carville Primary School Fordley Community Primary School
Forest Hall Primary School* Grasmere Academy** Greenfields Community Primary School Hadrian Park Primary School**
Hazlewood Community Primary School Ivy Road Primary School King Edward Primary School* Monkhouse Primary School
Percy Main Primary School** Preston Grange Primary School Redesdale Primary School Richardson Dees Primary School
Rockcliffe First School Sir James Knott Nursery** Stephenson Memorial Primary School Wallsend Jubilee Primary School
Western Community Primary School Westmoor Primary School*

 4 Middle Schools

Marden Bridge Middle School Monkseaton Middle School Valley Gardens Middle School Wellfield Middle School

10 Secondary Schools

Burnside College Churchill Community College George Stephenson High School John Spence Community High School**
Longbenton High School Marden High School Monkseaton High School Norham High School
Whitley Bay High School Moorbridge PRU**

5 Special Schools

Beacon Hill School Benton Dene School Silverdale School Southlands School
Woodlawn School

* Trust School only

** Partner School only

More in About


Interested in our services or would like to find out more?

Email: info@ntlearningtrust.org.uk
Phone: 0191 814 3899

Contact us

Sign Up For Newsletter